A very popular picturesque town! A typical Cévennes village, nestled between two limestone cliffs shared by the Gardon d’Anduze River, only one hour from the Mediterranean Sea and Mount Aigoual!
ANDUZE: gateway to the Cévennes! An beautiful region to explore…
MARKET THURSDAY MORNINGS – FLEA MARKET SUNDAY MORNINGS
NIGHT MARKET TUESDAY EVENINGS (July & August)
Website: Tourist Office
Places and monuments
- The Tower of Pézène: part of Pézène Castle, a lord’s house and residence of the Counts of Beaufort in the 15th and 16th centuries. The tower dates from the 13th and 14th centuries.
- Neuf Castle: a lord’s house from the 17th century. At the time of its construction, it was integrated into the ramparts. It includes two towers.
- The Barracks: built in 1740 on the Plan de Brie to house the royal troops. The part that remains to the left of the temple currently houses the Tourist Office, the part on the right has become the town hall.
- Church of Saint-Etienne: built between 1686 and 1688 on the site of the old temple demolished after the Revocation of the Edict of Nantes in 1685. The bell tower dates from 1588.
- The Temple: one of the largest in France, built between 1820 and 1823 on the site of the Barracks courtyard. The large nave is divided into three vaults supported by powerful pilasters.
- Clock Tower: dates from 1320, with three levels and the same architecture as the ramparts of Aigues-Mortes. It became the town clock in 1569 and was spared during the destruction of the ramparts in 1629.
- La Méridienne: the town clock since 1569, saved in 1629 when the ramparts were destroyed, restored in 1989.
- Covered Market: built in 1457, called the Orgerie or grain market. It used to be the location of the chestnut market and today hosts the local farmer’s market (on Thursdays).
- The first temple: In 1567, the first temple in Anduze and very likely the first temple in France was built at 5 rue Notarié, a street in Anduze. Later, in 1590, it was enlarged. During the Revocation of the Edict of Nantes, the Protestants were expelled from 5 rue Notarié to the mountains and the “desert” (now a museum). In addition to having been the first temple, the house at 5 rue Notarié is known for having been the consular house and one of the first schools, an important place in the history of Anduze.
- The Bicentennial Fountain: created in 1989 by a companion to commemorate the bicentennial of the French Revolution. The three columns each illustrate a style: Doric, Ionic, Corinthian.
- The Pagoda Fountain: of oriental style, built in 1648, probably according to the drawings (and with the money) of an Anduzian who had gone to look for silkworm seeds in the east.
- The Potters’ Fountain: located between Rue Gaussorgues and Rue Fusterie, it covers the base at the edge of the corner house. It owes its name to the fact that many pottery workshops occupied this area a few decades ago.
- The Church Fountain: dating from 1715, it is located on the site of an old cemetery, formerly the Place du Cimetière. The pyramid on top of the fountain creates a surprising optical effect from a certain angle due to the three stone balls that form the base.
- The Fountain of Notre-Dame: dates from 1715. It owes its name to an old chapel that has since disappeared.
- The Pradier Fountain: classical style, dating from the first half of the 19th century. It is composed of a vast circular pool. In the center, there is a basin on an elaborately carved base that is supported by a composite-style column.
Historical figures connected to the commune
- Jean-Jacques Paulet, author of a History of the Town of Anduze, published in 1847
- The poet Fernand Mazade was born in the town in 1861.
- The poet Alfred de Montvaillant was born in the down on December 27, 1826. A plaque on the house in the Place des Halles where he was born pays tribute to him.
- The merchant and banker Pierre Cazenove who moved to London in 1681 and founded the bank of the same name, still in business, with his portrait in the lobby.
- The merchant Boissier who moved to Genoa in 1677 with the André family, who invented the blue jean.
- Actors Jean Dujardin and Alexandra Lamy have a house there. They were married there on July 25, 2009.
- Protestant churches, members of the French Federation:
- Grand Temple, Evangelical Reformed Church EREI
- Pont du Gardon Adventist Church, UFA:
- Other Protestant churches
- Evangelical Methodist Church, Route de Saint Felix UEEMF
- Catholic Church
- Notre-Dame de la Paix-Dieu Monastery, community of Cistercian-Trappist nuns founded en 1970.